top of page

Racing the Day with Random

4:50 AM

You know how scientists say (wow, I swear this will get more interesting just hang in there) that there are always a bunch of tiny organisms everywhere that we can’t see? What if there are creatures out there that are so big that they can’t see us because we are so small. AND ALSO what if there are some creatures that are so small that they can’t even see us because we are too big to even be seen…like how if you were to look at one pixel of a gigantic image you’d have no idea what the heck you were looking at. Are there even some creatures now that we can see if we work really hard but they are so small that they are not even partially aware of our possible existence?

I don’t believe that things are all sentient but if I try hard enough I do. Does that make any sense? Did you follow that segue? No to both? Great. First the answer to the ladder: there was no segue I’m just jumping through thoughts. The former: I don’t actually believe, for example, that a chair has feelings and emotions. HOWEVER the second I say that I feel as if I can hear the chair talking in it’s chair voice *pause to think of what a chair voice would be* and I hear it saying how offended it is that I just de-valued its emotions.

Let me quickly share with you the reality of my present moment. I will likely go back to the whole sentient inanimate object thing in a hot sec, but first:

CARLY IN THE NOW

So, I have simply not been tired tonight. I’ve gotten a lot done, but that’s boring so I’m not going to talk about that. I figured I’d end up here writing tonight. I don’t write every night I’m up. THIS BLOG DOES NOT OWN ME. Sorry for yelling there. Didn’t mean to. I’ll keep it down. ANYWAY…I’m lying in bed now and I’m typing and I see the sky slowly threatening to become day and I know I’m not actually under a time crunch but it really feels like I’m racing against the clock so tonight (morning) is just a random amalgamation of some bizarre thoughts and musings with little to no filter.

ON WE GO

So the fun thing about sentient inanimate objects, or rather, the fun thing about listening to sentient inanimate objects is that all of them have their own story. For example, a fork, a spoon, and a knife have a really complicated thing going on. The fork and the spoon are in love but are separated on each side of the plate. The knife is the guy the spoon is supposed to be with. It’s very difficult for them.

Numbers also have their own MAJOR drama, I’m talking shit that goes way beyond “7 ate 9”.

*pause for laughter*

One and three are more or less rivals for two’s affections. Four and three are friends/frenimies. Four and Two are Friends. Five and four are also friends, but five is kind of an asshole and two doesn’t like him. Six is really nice. Everyone likes six, but six likes five and everyone but six sees that five is no good. Seven and six are best friends. Eight is a bit of a floater in and out of that friend group. Somewhat of a loner, eight tends to keep to himself but pines a bit after nine. Nine though, is into ten kind of but is also close with eight. Eight is more or less a parental figure through it all.

WOW. I don’t know if I’ve ever typed that out.

Ok, I know I have not written all that much for this evening/morning/WITCHINGHOUR:), but it is so close to dawn it’s scary. I still kind of want to just read until the sun comes up, but that feels like the wrong decision…

I shall go and attempt to sleep!

Good Night and Good Morning

-Carly

bottom of page