top of page

...Alright?

2:26 AM

Back Street’s back, alright?

I really like writing that as a question. I like to think that two people were really arguing over the reincarnation of Back Street, and one of the two people is in total denial and the fight gets really intense, but finally, the person just breaks down and the other soothingly says to them "I know it's hard to believe, but -- but Back Street's back, alright?"

However, this statement is a lie! It is not Back Street who is back. It is I, Carly.

Why do we say “It is I” instead of “It is me?” Okay, well actually I know why, but if I explain it I fear I’ll lose the two individuals who are devout readers within the first four lines, and that’s not fair.

KIDDING I DON’T CARE :D :D (in a nice way)

We say that because, even though the end of the sentence normally holds the predicate (in which “me, us, her, him, etc.” would be used), the positioning of the phrase changes the part of speech to the pronoun to the direct object. It now serves to answer the “what” or “whom” question. The same rule applies when answering the phone you would say “this is she.” I find it quite fun to say actually.

Have I lost everyone? Perfect!

I know I haven’t written in a long while so, sorry about that. I really do need to stop apologizing when I don’t write! I will write when I write! Gosh! (Also, I spent a large portion of my break staying up all night watching the emotional rollercoaster that is Glee from beginning to end with my siblings so I really do hope you understand)

I must confess, coming back to school, the hope was that fewer and fewer drafts of this blog would be written. I don’t really mean that. Well, I kind of do. I really like writing here, but when I write here I know its because I’m not sleeping. Honestly, I’ve entirely lost any sense of what a normal time to go to sleep is.

So, my goals for this semester (they say if you want to achieve your goals you should talk about them loudly and post them on the internet, right?) are to stay organized, stay healthy, and stay on a quasi regular sleep schedule. So really the goal isn’t really to stop writing the blog it’s more just to get sleep!

But here we find ourselves. Day 2. Not even day 2 really because we had an incredibly gentle snow day. Tonight was shrouded in so many firm intentions to go to sleep early, but here I find myself, pushing past 2 AM with my hair straightened, my homework done, my clothes laid out for tomorrow, and a fresh batch of Snickerdoodles I made from scratch.

Honestly, I wouldn’t say that I have insomnia.

I would simply say that I have cookies and you don’t.

Alright well, I will probably be back in no time at all seeing as one day of classes and a snow day brought me back into the blogosphere! Happy second semester to all and to all a….

Good Night and Good Morning

-Carly

P.S. See what I did there?

bottom of page